Siebert Lutheran Foundation  

2016 Change or Die Conference

Siebert Lutheran Foundation's Annual Change or Die Conference provides an opportunity for Lutheran ministry leaders to network and learn from each other. The event is a safe place for assembling people and building relationships across the Lutheran denominations. 

In 2016, 358 Lutheran ministry leaders joined us at the Country Springs Hotel on Thursday, October 13, and heard from six speakers and a panel about Building Vital Faith Communities. Please click on the speakers' names below to learn more about each speaker and see full videos of their presentations. They're also available on Siebert's YouTube Channel.

Presentation videos are now available! Click on the speaker's name below to view his or her video.

Thank you to everyone who attended.

2016 Change or Die Speakers

Rev. Jason Ewart

Rev. Jason Ewart became the pastor of Hope Lutheran in 2009. On Rev. Ewart’s first Sunday at Hope, 90 people showed up at the congregation’s rented facility. Today, 450 people attend Hope on a given weekend.


Rev. Dr. David Kim

Dr. Kim is the Mission Director at LINC Houston where he serves as leading and supervising pastor over 25 mission congregations that worship in 15+ different languages.


Ms. Alaina Kleinbeck

Alaina Kleinbeck has served youth ministries and organizations in suburban St. Louis, urban Houston, and Norway.


Rev. Matt Popovits

Matt Popovits serves as Pastor of Our Saviour New York (OSNY), a family of parishes in Manhattan and Queens, working together to serve New York City.


Rev. Alexia Salvatierra

Rev. Alexia Salvatierra is the author with Dr. Peter Heltzel of “Faith-Rooted Organizing: Mobilizing the Church in Service to the World” and the founder of the Faith-Rooted Organizing UnNetwork. She is a Lutheran Pastor with over 35 years of experience in congregational and community ministry.


Mr. Mike Ward

Mike Ward is passionate about stewardship and how it can lead to renewal in the church. Mr. Ward is a Lutheran pastor as well as a Certified Fundraising Executive (CFRE) and is now a partner in the consulting firm GSB.


2016 Panel: Congregational Culture Eats Mission for Breakfast*

*Respectfully adapted from business management guru Peter Drucker.

Click here for the video of the panel discussion.


Rev. Sherrie Lorbeck

Rev. Sherrie Lorbeck has served as one of the pastors at Cross of Life Lutheran in Brookfield (now known as Unity Lutheran) for the last ten years.


Mr. Matt Trotter

Matt Trotter is currently finishing a second stint as President of Grace, in Downtown Milwaukee.


Rev. Brian West

Rev. Brian West has served as an overseas missionary in Central Europe, urban house-church planter, worship leader and currently serves as a Pastor for the NextGeneration at Trinity Lutheran.


To watch the presentations from previous conferences, please click on the year: 2014 | 2015

Supporting Sponsor:

Thrivent Financial

Thrivent Choice

Members of your congregation who are Thrivent customers may have the ability to donate their Choice dollars to your church. Click here to learn more.

Thrivent Action Teams

Thrivent customers may receive an Action Kit, including $250, to lead a volunteer team in a one-time fundraiser, service activity or educational event to benefit your church. Click here to learn more.

Contributing Sponsors:




Our 2016 Planning Commitee consists of:

  Rev. Walter Baires, Ascension, Milwaukee
Rev. Lisa Bates-Froiland, Redeemer Lutheran Church, Milwaukee
Michelle Burmeister, Siebert Lutheran Foundation
Diane Dalhoe, Siebert Lutheran Foundation
Deborah Engel, Siebert Lutheran Foundation
Gretchen Jameson, Concordia University
Rev. Mark Jeske, Time of Grace Ministry and St. Marcus Lutheran Church, Milwaukee
Bill Meier, Kingdom Workers
Rev. Randy Raasch, First Immanuel Lutheran Church, Cedarburg
Rev. Matthew Short, St. Luke Lutheran Church, Slinger
Brenda Skelton, Siebert Lutheran Foundation



Siebert Lutheran Foundation
758 N. 27th Street